The Visitor

As a filmmaker, I’d love to be able to say that the majority of movies being shown in theaters today are worth the cost of the ticket, popcorn and soda,

But

I don’t think that’s true.

I think the majority of movies being released today are uninspiring or just as moving if you waited and watched them when they come out on DVD. From a producer’s perspective, that makes me cringe inside.

I want to get back to that place in time when movies were so compelling that I couldn’t wait for Friday night. Standing in line for the movies was a big deal and it was fun.

And there was a line EVERY Friday and Saturday night.

VHS tapes, DVD’s, and now online viewing all play a big part in the decreasing lines at the theaters as does the increasing cost of the tickets and refreshments.

BUT

So does the feeling we are left with after watching a movie.

I remember the first time I saw Star Wars, Grease, The Sound of Music, The Other Side of the Mountain, and a number of other movies that left me wanting more. I wanted to run back into the theater, claim my seat, and do it all over again.

Having truly enjoyed Tom McCarthy‘s The Station Agent, I’ve been paying attention to his next film, The Visitor.

And from what I can tell, this film looks to be equally engaging. Story driven, character driven, and beautifully written and directed.

It’s not a big blockbuster and it doesn’t have big stars, but it appears to have substance and depth, humor, and great acting.

It appears to have the stuff that makes you feel good about spending the time in the theater and the money on the ticket.

Vodpod videos no longer available. from www.takepart.com posted with vodpod

Leave a Reply

