And The Cross Was Empty (Part 2 – Nothing Is Unimportant)

Cupboards, closets, drawers, cabinets, and shelves are interesting spaces.

For the most part, they hold things we determine to have value in our lives and we feel good about those spaces.

But

Sometimes they hold things we want to set aside, not deal with, or not accept and we feel anxiety about those spaces.

As you remember from Part 1, I had been experiencing a time of great trial in my life when I silently screamed out to God, “Don’t you feel my pain? Don’t you feel my tears?”

In the dream I had the night I cried out to God, the fact that I was standing in my bedroom searching for something in my closet didn’t seem to be an important part of God’s message…at first.

However

For me to be standing in front of my closet, in my bedroom, meant that I was looking for something that was mine.

Something I had put away.

Something I had previously decided I could use at a later time.

Things we use on a regular basis we rarely “put away” so well that a search is necessary.

There I stood in front of my closet searching for something that was mine, but couldn’t seem to find. In walks my dad to give me a gift — a Christmas tree ornament.

Throughout the Bible, we are made aware of the many ways God uses symbolism to communicate His message to us.

And He continues to do so.

In my dream, my dad is used as a symbol for God, my heavenly Father. My dad giving me a gift of a Christmas tree ornament is symbolic to what we celebrate at Christmastime, the birth of Jesus — the gift God so freely gave all of us, His Son, Jesus Christ.

As you recall, in my dream the Christmas tree ornament was a musical carousel with angels where horses would usually be. Angels played a big part in the birth of Jesus and in His second coming.

Luke 2:9-11 reads: An Angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you: he is Christ the Lord.”

Luke 2:13, 14 continues: Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying, “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men on whom His favor rests.”

And then in Mathew 24:30, 31 Jesus tells of His return: At that time the sign of the Son of Man will appear in the sky, and all the nations of the earth will mourn. They will see the Son of Man coming on the clouds of the sky, with power and great glory. And He will send His angels with a loud trumpet call, and they will gather His elect from the four winds, from one end of the heavens to the other.

The progression of my dream is of great significance.

1. Something has already taken place. Something has already been given to me.

2. I acknowledge my need for it.

3. I begin my search for it standing in front of my closet, a place of storage for things to be used at a later time.

4. In walks my dad and freely gives me a gift.

5. I receive the gift.

6. I notice the gift is musical, but unusual and appears to be out of season.

7. The gift disappears.

8. I hear a great wind and see angels.

9. Jesus comes to me in love as the manifested gift bearing my pain.

10. Again, I hear a great wind.

11. Jesus and the angels disappear from my natural vision.

12. I turn to look back at my closet and there on the floor is the gift.

13. End of dream.

14.

Now, there are two “understood” points in my dream. The first occurred even before the dream began. It is number 1 in the progression of the dream: “something” had already taken place.

That “something” was the birth, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

The second “understood” point occurred immediately at the end of my dream: now that I see in my closet what I had been searching for, do I pick up the gift, love it, learn from it, and apply it to my life on a regular basis?

Or

Do I close the closet doors and continue to keep it in storage for a later time?

14. I must make a choice.

Leave a Reply

