A Long Day’s Journey Up the Mountain of Courage

I’ve been gone from the blogging world for what feels like a very long time.

And

Now, it’s time to return…

With a mission.

For the past 8 months I have been working —  28 to 35 volunteer hours 7 days a week — to care for and socialize dogs seized from an out of control and badly neglected breeding situation.

On December 11 and 30, 2008, approximately 200+ dogs, 3 cats,  10 cockatiels,  a bunch of chickens and one loud rooster were seized by Yellowstone County (Billings, MT) and taken to the fairgrounds where the majority of them would be housed in horse barns for the next 8 – 9 months.

I began volunteering with the dogs the first week of January 2009.

I invite you to follow my journey with Joy, Love, Eddie, Happy, Trooper, Sadie, Suri, and Tippy — the 8 dogs I have worked with directly these past 8 months.

Our journey is one of great, great learning filled with emotional highs and lows.

AND

Is now in a place that will shock you.

Please join our journey as we travel up the mountain of courage…

First, meet the dogs:

Trooper

Trooper

Sadie

Sadie

Eddie

Eddie

Joy

Joy

Happy

Happy

Tippy

Tippy

Suri

Suri

Love

Love

6 thoughts on “A Long Day’s Journey Up the Mountain of Courage

  1. Penny,
    I am glad to see you doing this! This was an idea I was going to suggest….you creating a blog, showing the journey you’ve traveled and the journey you’ve just begun. I’d like to share your blog with my friends. I so wanted many of them to attend last Sunday, but they were unable to. (One was giving birth to a beautiful angel.) Inviting them to follow your blog will give them a glimpse as to what I’ve been trying to communicate to them. You are an incredible person. One that I am honored and proud to be not only an advocate for…but, to be your friend.
    Thank you, Penny!
    YOU are amazing!
    Sincerely,
    Julie

  2. Hi –
    Welcome back. I’ve just started back up my self. You know how very proud I am of you – you deserve all the blessing that can be bestowed on you. As MJ said above – you are amazing.

  3. i am now following by your blog & by facebook. please advise if there is anything i can do-as you know i’m housebound for the most part, but can phoning or whatever GodBless Nita&Mel

  4. I am so happy to be a friend of yours and I am constantly going to your website to see your pictures of Minnie. Each night when I returned home from work and viewing all of the news going ons I return to Minnies picture and go to a gentle and refreshing sleep. You are an amazing woman and how can an old fuddy like me have such a wonderful loving and caring person. I am fortunate beyond belief to call you a friend. Cherish what you have as beautiful lives are with us for such a short time.

Leave a Reply

